Fort Hays State University FHSU Scholars Repository

Faculty Senate

Archives Online

5-4-1987

Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, May 4, 1987

FHSU Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all

Recommended Citation

FHSU Faculty Senate, "Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, May 4, 1987" (1987). *Faculty Senate*. 782.

https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all/782

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Archives Online at FHSU Scholars Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate by an authorized administrator of FHSU Scholars Repository. For more information, please contact ScholarsRepository@fhsu.edu.

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

May 4, 1987

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Mark Giese, President of the Faculty Senate, at 3:30 p.m. in the Pioneer Lounge of the Memorial Union.

ROLL CALL

The following members were present: Dr. Robert Nicholson, Dr. Thomas Wenke, Mr. Jack Logan, Ms. Joan Rumpel, Dr. Jim Rucker, Dr. Delbert Marshall, Dr. Fred Britten, Dr. Lloyd Frerer, Dr. John Ratzlaff, Dr. Bill Rickman, Dr. Billy Daley, Dr. Art Hoernicke, Ms. Donna Harsh(for Dr. Ninia Smith), Dr. Paul Gatschet, Mr. David Ison, Ms. Leona Pfeifer, Dr. Mark Giese, Dr. John Klier, Mr. Jim Walters, Mr. Marc Campbell, Dr. Jeffrey Barnett, Dr. Ronald Sandstrom, Dr. Lewis Miller, Dr. Martin Shapiro, Ms. Mary Anne Kennedy, Dr. Paul Faber, Dr. Roger Pruitt, Dr. Robert Markley, Dr. Phyllis Tiffany.

Members absent: Dr. Brent Spaulding, Mr. Frank Nichols, Dr. Zoran Stevanov, Dr. Tom Kerns, Dr. Merlene Lyman, Ms. Eileen Curl, Dr. Larry Gould, Dr. Nevell Razak.

Also present: Dr. Cathy Hall, Mr. Dave Burke, Ms. Gloria Pfannenstiel, Ms. Cheryl Schmeidler, Ms. Leslie Eikleberry, Mr. Kevin Amack, Dr. James Murphy.

Dr. Gatschet asked that Dr. Tom Kerns' name be added to the list of those helping with the by-laws revision. The minutes were then approved.

Announcements:

The annual Faculty Meeting will be May 5.

The following slate of nominees for office for 1987-88 was presented:

Vice President: Dr. Ron Sandstrom and Dr. Jeffrey Barnett Secretary: Dr. Cathy Hall and Ms. Joan Rumpel The floor will be open for additional nominations in September.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

ACADEMIC AFFAIRS: No report.

UNIVERSITY AFFAIRS: Dr. Markley gave an interim report on the proposed name change. A quorum was not present at their April meeting. The results of the faculty survey, with 126 responding, were: 73, yes(58%); 49, no; 4 with. no opinion. Dr. Markley will group the results. Unofficially Dr. Markley suggested that the dialogue continue and the topic be brought up again next year.

STUDENT AFFAIRS: No report.

1

EXTERNAL AFFAIRS: Representative Delbert Gross will not be here today because the legislature is still in session. Tentatively he will attend the June Senate meeting.

BY-LAWS AND STANDING RULES: The vote on the changes to the by-laws was 118 yes; 7 no; 1 abstention. The changes passed.

OLD BUSINESS: None.

NEW BUSINESS:

Dr. Giese introduced Ms. Gloria Pfannenstiel, President of the Classified Senate. Ms. Pfannenstiel read to the members of the Senate a letter which she had sent to Dr. Giese. She is concerned that there is no mention of cooperation with the Classified Senate or employees in the Faculty Senate By-Laws, although mention is made of cooperation with Student Senate in Article II--Object, No. 3, and that meetings will be open to faculty, administration and the student body in Article V--Meetings, Section 5a. In the Classified Employees Code, Article II, it states that the senate may work cooperatively with the student government association and/or the faculty senate of the university for the accomplishment of common objectives.

Dr. Frerer moved that we submit this issue of recognition of the Classified Senate to the By-Laws and Standing Rules Committee. Seconded by Dr. Sandstrom. Discussion: In order to amend the by-laws it would be necessary to go through the process of committee-senate-faculty. Dr. Gatschet suggested that since this process will take time, an alternative until the by-laws committee can act would be to adopt a resolution recognizing cooperation with the Classified Senate.

The motion passed with two oppposed.

Dr. Marshall made the following motion:

Be it resolved that the Classified Senate be considered and included in our cooperative efforts with possibility of an exchange of representatives at meetings of the two groups.

he floor will be open for additional cominations in September.

The annual Jacolty Meeting will be May 5.

Seconded by Dr. Frerer.

Dr. Hoernicke asked if this resolution would mean the Classified Senate would have representatives on the Faculty Senate sub-committees as well. Dr. Markley felt that the representative issue should be addressed by the By-Laws and Standing Rules Committee.

Dr. Markley moved that we amend the resolution and omit that part of the resolution after "efforts". Seconded by Dr. Tiffany. Amendment passed unanimously. The vote on the main motion as amended passed unanimously.

Dr. Sandstrom moved that the Faculty Senate commend Dr.Marcia Bannister, Dr. Mark Giese and Dr. Larry Gould for their exemplary service on the Presidential Search Committee. Seconded by Mr. Ison. Dr. Giese suggested that anyone who has not yet met Dr. Hammond be present tomorrow for the general Faculty Meeting. There was some discussion on the lack of notification of the press conference with Dr. Hammond this morning. The motion passed unanimously.

Dr. Marshall brought up the question about when positions in the unclassified area should be tenure track and when temporary or non-tenure track. The question was brought up at the request of his department chairman and dean. It was suggested to him that perhaps a committee of the Senate could delve into this issue. After some discussion about the granting of positions and the UPPC's role, Dr. Gatschet suggested that we ask Dr. Marshall to go back and find out just what Dr. Bartholomew really wants, to get more specifics on the issue, for example when would tenure track or non-tenure track be most appropriate. Then we can respond.

Mr. Walters moved to adjourn the meeting. Seconded by Dr. Gatschet.

The meeting adjourned at 4:10 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Joan Rumpel, Secretary Faculty Senate