Fort Hays State University

FHSU Scholars Repository

Faculty Senate Archives Online

7-5-1983

Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, July 5, 1983

FHSU Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all

Recommended Citation

FHSU Faculty Senate, "Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, July 5, 1983" (1983). *Faculty Senate*. 739.

https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all/739

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Archives Online at FHSU Scholars Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate by an authorized administrator of FHSU Scholars Repository. For more information, please contact ScholarsRepository@fhsu.edu.



FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

July 5, 1983

The Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate was called to order by President John Watson at 3:30 p.m. in the Pioneer Lounge of the Memorial Union.

ROLL CALL

The following members were present: Mr. Frank Nichols, Dr. Frank Potter, Mr. Elton Schroder, Dr. John Watson, Ms. Sharon Barton, Dr. Larry Nicholson, Dr. Stephen Shapiro, Dr. John Ratzlaff, Dr. Dan Kauffman, Dr. Bill Daley, Dr. William Robinson, Dr. Richard Leeson, Dr. Gary Arbogast, Dr. Mark Giese, Dr. Robert Luehrs, Mr. Don Barton, Mr. Jerry Wilson, Dr. Jeffrey Barnett, Dr. Elton Beougher, Dr. Lewis Miller, Ms. Rose Brungardt, Dr. Stephen Tramel, Dr. William Welch, Dr. Richard Heil, Dr. Cameron Camp, and Dr. Nevell Razak. Mr. Dale Peier attended as an alternate for Ms. Martha Eining. Dr. Carl Singleton attended for Dr. Michael Meade. Other members absent were Dr. Garry Brower, Mr. Larry Grimsley, Dr. Marcia Bannister, Dr. Allan Miller, Dr. Benito Carballo, Ms. Rosa Jones, Mr. Robert Brown, and Ms. Marilyn Scheuerman.

Guests attending the meeting were Mr. Chick Howland, Hays Daily News reporter, Dr. Fred Ruda, Dr. Clifford Edwards, Dr. James Costigan, and Mr. Jack Jackson.

The minutes of the June 14, 1983, meeting were approved as distributed.

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- (1) If the Finance Council releases the salary increase money to the Regents on June 30, the Regents will meet by conference telephone to release the money to the Regent's Institutions. This means around the seventh of July the administration will be able to notify personnel the amount of their raises to take effect 18 December 1983 for twelve month employees and 1 January 1984 for 9 month appointments.
- (2) In the May Report to the faculty which summarized the work done by the Senate, President Watson forgot to include a new program which was approved in Business Education.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Academic Affairs--Dr. Mark Giese, Chair

M₁ The Academic Affairs Committee presented eight motions for consideration. A motion for approval of a new course Industrial Education 210 Introduction to Industrial Education, 2 credit hours, was passed.

A motion to approve the course Industrial Education 550 Visual Communication: Color Photography, 3 credit hours, was tabled.

- M₂ The motion to approve Education 627 Kindergarten Education, 3 credit hours, was passed.
- $^{\mathrm{M}}_{3}$ The Committee also moved that Education 629 Learning and Expression in Children, 3 credit hours, be approved. The motion carried.
- M₄ The motion to approve the course Education 746 Diagnostic and Remedial Teaching of Exceptional Children and Youth, 3 credit hours, was passed.
- M_5 A motion to approve Education 321 The Young Child, 3 credit hours, also passed.
- M₆ The course Education 842 Counseling Parents of Exceptional Children and Youth II, 3 credit hours, was also approved.
- M₇ Academic Affairs also presented a proposal for restructuring the sequence of required composition courses. The two major changes in the English composition requirement would be:
 - (1) All incoming Freshmen must take English Composition I their first semester and English Composition II the subsequent semester if they successfully complete English Composition I.
 - (2) Technical and Report writing cannot be substituted for English Comp II.

The proposal was approved.

By-Laws and Standing Rules--Mr. Frank Nichols, Chair

The Committee had no report. Yet pending before the Committee is the proposed change in the By-Laws to be submitted to the Faculty for final approval in September.

Student Affairs Committee--Dr. Allan Miller, Chair

Student Affairs had no report. Pending is an appeal procedure for a student to follow if the student believes that an instructor was in error when evaluating the student's performance or if the student believes that he/she was unjustly accused of cheating.

University Affairs Committee--Dr. Gary Arbogast, Chair

M₈ The University Affairs Committee moved that the document "Institutional Problems Resulting from Financial Exigency: Some Operating Guidelines for Fort Hays State University and the University Personnel Planning Committee" reflecting AAUP policy guidelines be approved.

Dr. Kauffman moved that the motion be amended by striking the reference to "age" as a possible criterion for termination of appointment (page 2).

The motion for amendment was defeated.

The Senate then voted to approve the document.

UNFINISHED BUSINESS

Dr. Watson reported that he had visited with President Tomanek regarding the resolution on faculty salaries. He reported that President Tomanek has taken some strides to adjust the relative difference in salary increases of faculty and administrative personnel. Last year a 0.5% adjustment was made in favor of nine month personnel. The President also pointed out that he thought that Continuing Education salaries should have been included in the study, but that the salaries of temporary staff personnel should have been excluded. He also questioned how many administrative positions in different schools can be compared to one another. He now intends to have Mr. Jack Farrell, Director of Insitutional Research, and Dr. Dale Johansen, Vice President for Academic Affairs, rune a similar study with the suggested adjustments.

A resolution was passed thanking Dr. John Watson for his leadership efforts on behalf of the faculty.

NEW BUSINESS

There was no new business.

Respectfully submitted,

Marcia Bannister

Faculty Senate Secretary