Fort Hays State University

FHSU Scholars Repository

Faculty Senate Archives Online

7-15-1981

Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, July 15, 1981

FHSU Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all

Recommended Citation

FHSU Faculty Senate, "Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, July 15, 1981" (1981). *Faculty Senate*. 716.

https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all/716

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Archives Online at FHSU Scholars Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate by an authorized administrator of FHSU Scholars Repository. For more information, please contact ScholarsRepository@fhsu.edu.

FACULTY SENATE MINUTES

July 15, 1981

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Sam Warfel, Faculty Senate President, at 3:30 p.m., in the Pioneer Lounge of the Memorial Union.

ROLL CALL

The following members were present: Mr. Elton Schroder, Dr. John Watson, Ms. Patricia Baconrind, Mr. Larry Grimsley, Dr. Max Rumpel, Dr. Richard Zakrzewski, Dr. Dan Kauffman, Dr. James Stansbury, Mr. Dave Ison, Dr. Albert Geritz, Dr. Michael Meade, Mr. Ed McNeil, Mr. Jerry Wilson, Dr. Lewis Miller, Mr. Robert Brown, Ms. Carolyn Gatschet, Mr. Richard Heil, Dr. Nevell Razak, Dr. Sam Warfel.

The following members were absent: Dr. Garry Brower, Ms. Joanne Harwick, Ms. Sharon Barton, Mr. David Lefurgey, Mr. Dave Adams, Dr. Billy Daley, Dr. William Robinson, Mr. DeWayne Winterlin, Ms. Orvene Johnson, Dr. Ann Liston, Ms. June Krebs, Mr. Don Barton, Dr. Ervin Eltze, Dr. Carolyn Ehr, Ms. Jane Littlejohn, Dr. Stephen Tramel, Dr. Louis Caplan, Dr. Cameron Camp.

The following alternates were present: Mr. J. Dale Peier, Dr. Charles Votaw.

The minutes of the June 15, 1981, meeting were approved with the following correction. On page 1, last line should read: Academic Advising document; as well as in the area of general education courses with sections for . . .

ANNOUNCEMENTS

- Dr. Warfel reported that five Faculty Senate Presidents met with the Council of Presidents and Regents to discuss faculty salaries for next year.
- 2. Cal Harbin has been appointed interim Dean of Continuing Education until January 1, 1982. A search committee is being formed.

COMMITTEE REPORTS

Academic Affairs--Dr. Max Rumpel, Chair

There were no motions. He reported that the Committee has been studying the Academic Advising document. The Committee recommended that the University

Affairs Committee study the document. Also Dr. Rumpel reported that the subcommittee on investigating courses in general education with sections for special clienteles is nearing completion.

By-Laws and Standing Rules--Mr. Dave Lefurgey, Chair

There was no report.

Student Affairs--Mr. Don Barton, Chair

There was no report.

University Affairs--Dr. James Stansbury, Chair

There were no motions. Dr. Stansbury said that he was compiling information for the incoming chairperson.

OLD BUSINESS

There was none. There was none. There was none. There was none.

NEW BUSINESS THE PROPERTY OF T

Mr. Heil asked that all committee secretaries turn their minutes in to him.

Mr. Heil moved that the Faculty Senate thank Kay Dey in her capacity as Director of Institutional Research for seven years of service to FHSU. Under her leadership the Office of Institutional Research has been very open and responsive to the requests for information from the Faculty Senate. The partial success accomplished last year in obtaining increased faculty salaries at FHSU was due in part to the quality and quantity of data provided by Kay and the Office of Institutional Research. It was seconded by Mr. McNeil. It passed.

Mr. Heil moved that the Faculty Senate commend President Warfel for his excellent leadership throughout the year. Dr. Stansbury seconded it. It passed.

Mr. McNeil moved that we adjourn. It was seconded. The meeting was adjourned at 3:45 p.m.

Respectfully submitted,

Patricia Baconrind

Secretary