Fort Hays State University

FHSU Scholars Repository

Faculty Senate Archives Online

9-1-1970

Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, September 1, 1970

FHSU Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all

Recommended Citation

FHSU Faculty Senate, "Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, September 1, 1970" (1970). *Faculty Senate*. 573.

https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all/573

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Archives Online at FHSU Scholars Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate by an authorized administrator of FHSU Scholars Repository. For more information, please contact ScholarsRepository@fhsu.edu.

FACULTY SENATE

Minutes of the meeting of the Faculty Senate, Tuesday, September 1, 1970, at 4:30 p.m., in the Frontier Room of the Memorial Union.

Members absent: Dr. Miller.

Also present: Dr. Garwood, temporary Chairman; President Gustad.

The meeting was called to order by Dr. Garwood, temporary Chairman. President Gustad was introduced by Dr. Garwood. President Gustad greeted the Senate members and asked that the Senate act on two items as soon as possible. He requested that the Faculty Senate nominate a slate of six tenured full professors from which he will select three members for the Committee on Tenure. He requested, also, that a committee be appointed to work on a revision of the Faculty Handbook. He would like the revision to be completed by Christmas. After speaking to the Senate, President Gustad left the meeting.

Dr. Garwood introduced Miss Riley, acting Secretary, and distributed copies of the <u>Bylaws</u> of the Faculty Senate, calling attention to the articles concerning the election of members.

Miss Riley called the roll.

Dr. Garwood called for nominations for permanent Chairman. It was determined that majority vote would elect, as the <u>Bylaws</u> do not provide otherwise. Nominated for Chairman were: Dr. Gary Hulett, Dr. Don Slechta and Dr. LaVier Staven. It was moved and seconded that nominations cease. Motion carried. Voting was by written ballot. Results were:

Dr. Gary Hulett 23

Dr. Don Slechta 11

Dr. LaVier Staven 11

Dr. Gary Hulett was elected Chairman.

Dr. Garwood turned the meeting over to Dr. Hulett, and left the meeting.

Dr. Hulett called for nominations for Vice-Chairman. Nominated were: Dr. LaVier Staven and Dr. Sam Sackett. It was moved and seconded that nominations cease. Motion carried. Voting was by written ballot. Results were:

Dr. LaVier Staven 26

Dr. Sam Sackett 19

Dr. LaVier Staven was elected Vice-Chairman.

Dr. Hulett called for nominations for Secretary. Nominated were: Miss Mary Frey, Miss Esta Lou Riley, Dr. Hulda Groesbeck, and Mrs. Vivian Baxter. It was moved and seconded that nominations cease. Motion carried. Voting was by written ballot. Results on the second ballot were:

Miss Mary Frey

Miss Esta Lou Riley 23

Dr. Hulda Groesbeck 6

Mrs. Vivian Baxter 16

Miss Esta Lou Riley was elected Secretary.

Dr. Hulett called attention to the five standing committees provided for by the Bylaws: the Executive Committee, the Academic Affairs Committee, the Bylaws and Standing Rules Committee, the College Affairs Committee and the Student Affairs Committee. He requested that members of the Senate submit any requests they have for appointments to committees within one week, as called for by the Bylaws.

Acting upon the request of President Gustad for a slate of six tenured full professors from which he will select the Committee on Tenure, Dr. Hulett called for nominations from the floor. Nominated were: Dr. Billy Daley, Dr. Ray Youmans, Dr. Don Slechta, Dr. Eugene Fleharty, Dr. Leland Bartholomew, Dr. Sam Hamilton, Dr. Verna Parish, Dr. Archie Thomas. It was moved and seconded that nominations cease. Motion carried.

Dr. Sam Hamilton raised the question of whether we were premature in naming the nominees for this Committee on Tenure in view of the fact that the <u>Bylaws</u> provide that the College Affairs Committee be concerned with policies regarding tenure. Dr. Sackett explained that the function of the College Affairs Committee with regard to tenure and that of the Committee on Tenure to be appointed by the President are two distinct and differing functions. Dr. Hamilton said that he understood the distinction between the two committees but questioned whether it was wise to select the nominees for the Committee on Tenure at this time.

It was moved by Dr. Sackett and seconded that the Senate proceed with naming the six nominees for the Committee on Tenure. Motion carried.

The question of the mechanics of voting for the six nominees was raised. It was proposed that the eight names be read in order of nomination and that the Senate members vote for no more than six; the two names receiving the least number of votes/be deleted and the remaining six to be designated as the nominees to be submitted to the President for the Committee on Tenure. This met with the approval of the Senate members and votes were cast. It was agreed that the ballots should be counted later by the three officers.

The votes were counted on Thursday afternoon, September 3, 1970, by the three officers. Results were:

Dr. Billy Daley Dr. Ray Youmans Dr. Don Slechta Dr. Eugene Fleharty Dr. Leland Bartholomew Dr. Sam Hamilton Dr. Verna Parish	33		
	32 32 35 26 34 34		
		Dr. Archie Thomas	29

Nominees to be submitted to the President for the Committee on Tenure are: Dr. Billy Daley, Dr. Ray Youmans, Dr. Don Slechta, Dr. Eugene Fleharty, Dr. Sam Hamilton and Dr. Verna Parish.

The question of the appointing of the committee to work on the revision of the <u>Faculty Handbook</u> was discussed. It was agreed that this committee will need to be a special committee since the material included in the handbook covers concerns that are distributed among the various standing committees. Dr. Bartholomew suggested the appointment of the chairmen of the various standing committees whose duties and responsibilities as outlined by the Bylaws of the Faculty Senate might be reflected in the handbook. It was the consensus of the group that it

would be best to delay appointment of this committee until other committee assignments have been made.

It was moved and seconded that the meeting be adjourned. Dr. Oliva asked about the drawing of lots to determine which representatives of divisions and departments shall serve one-year, which two-year and which three-year terms. Since the motion to adjourn had been made and seconded, the vote was taken. Motion carried.

Meeting adjourned at 5:30 p.m.

Gary Hulett, Chairman

Esta Lou Riley, Secretary