Fort Hays State University FHSU Scholars Repository

Faculty Senate

Archives Online

4-5-2011

Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, April 5, 2011

FHSU Faculty Senate

Follow this and additional works at: https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all

Recommended Citation

FHSU Faculty Senate, "Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes, April 5, 2011" (2011). *Faculty Senate*. 125. https://scholars.fhsu.edu/sen_all/125

This Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Archives Online at FHSU Scholars Repository. It has been accepted for inclusion in Faculty Senate by an authorized administrator of FHSU Scholars Repository. For more information, please contact ScholarsRepository@fhsu.edu.

Fort Hays State University Faculty Senate Minutes for Regular Meeting on Monday, April 5, 2011 (3:31pm, Stouffer Lounge)

1. Approval of Minutes and Attendance of Prior Meeting

Minutes were approved as printed and attendance was approved adding Lori Cook-Benjamin as present for the April meeting.

2. Announcements and Information Items:

- 2a. Kansas Board of Regents and COFSP
 - Dr. Hammond introduced students from the FHSU KAMS program.
 - Revised Transfer and Articulation Process Discussion indicated faculty want to be involved with this process.
 - Faculty would like a system wide tuition waiver for faculty and their families.
 - Continue to send Rita any quick notes about things of importance you are doing such as how faculty are impacting communities and Rita will include it in the KBOR newsletter.
- 2b. President's Cabinet
 - No Report

3. Reports from Committees –

- 4a. Executive Committee: Rita Hauck, Chair
 - No Report
- 4b. Academic Affairs: Jeffrey Burnett, Chair
 - No report there is an upcoming meeting
- 4c. Student Affairs: Denise Orth, Chair
 - No report
- 4d. University Affairs: Joe Perniciaro, Chair
 - No report
- 4e. By-Laws and Standing Rules: Joe Chretien, Chair
 - No Report
- 4f. University Marketing and Strategic Academic Partnerships: Sharla Hutchison, Chair
 - No report

4. Reports from Special Committees and Other Representatives

5a. Digital Measures: Chris Crawford

- No Report
- 5. Old Business
 - None
- 6. New Business
 - Election of Officers: Janet Stramel was elected as Faculty Senate Secretary. Emily Breit was elected as President-Elect of the Faculty Senate.
 - Brainstorming session for topics for the 2011-2012 Faculty Senate:
 - Updates on Digital Measure
 - Updates on the pilot program for three new mediated classrooms (RH 312, Albertson, McCartney)
 - o Updates on the Teaching Evaluation Survey for reliability and validity
 - Updates on the Department Chairs' and Deans' Evaluation Survey for reliability and validity
 - Invite persons to present on FHSU initiatives or processes for reporting sexual assault, gender discrimination issues, campus safety, and behavioral intervention
 - o If any faculty have additional ideas please send them to Rita Hauck
- 7. Adjournment of Regular Faculty Senate Meeting 3:59 p.m.